Overcoming Obstacles: Exercise Binging

We all have issues and problems to overcome in all aspects of our life including on our journeys to fitness. This honest post by fellow blogger Simplifying Sam, inspired me to share one of the biggest obstacles I faced in trying to incorporate exercise as a part of my lifestyle.Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 6.42.32 PM

All About It

My struggle with exercise binging began in high school the glory days for some and the horror days for others. Note, mine were the horror days you couldn’t pay me to repeat them despite how tempting a summer vacation might sound it would definitely not be worth it. Like many teenage girls, I struggled with body image and never seemed to be able to live up to this unrealistic ideal I had in my head. I loved food especially sweets and grew to view exercise as a form of punishment for those indulgences. Instead of going to the gym on a regular basis for a reasonable amount of time, I would rarely go but force myself to do marathon workouts when I did get there. Therefore, I never wanted to go to the gym because I felt like I had to do these super long workouts once I got there ( and I ain’t got time for that). It was all or nothing, go big or go home and that was not a recipe for success, but I didn’t have to tell you that.

Turning It Around

Photo from http://storybookapothecary.com/stay-positive-never-give-up-mid-week-inspiration-fitspo/

Eventually, I worked past many of my body image issues which wasn’t easy and was a big win (oh and I graduated high school too #winning). In doing so I stayed away from the gym awhile, which is probably what I needed at the time. I eventually came to the point where exercise began to interest me again but for health reasons, such as stress relief, this time not because I felt like I’d had too many cupcakes. I was worried I might go back to my old ways, so I knew I needed to try a different approach this time.

How I Overcame It

I decided that trying a fitness class might be ideal for me because someone else would be instructing me on what exercises to do and the class would be for a set time so when the class was over I could be done. I wouldn’t need to question whether I got a good workout in that day. I would know.

I decided to try Kosama and it was the perfect solution for me. Not only were the instructors great but the workouts were tough and gave me goals to push myself. The workouts were only an hour. I was doing something good for my body and my mind yet it was something I could maintain. Best of all I enjoyed it and I loved the way it made me feel. This past October, I met another goal of mine which was becoming an instructor at Kosama after taking their classes for a year. I’m finding that fitness is a passion of mine, and I’m loving exploring it. Who would have known?

What are some struggles and obstacles you have faced/are facing on your fitness journey?

Leave a Reply

