Fantastic Free Fitness Apps

Happy Friday everyone! Today I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite fitness apps. I believe most, if not all are free, so check them out if you are looking for a little extra motivation!

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.15.28 PMMyFitnessPal: This has got to be my all time favorite fitness app so far. MyFitnessPal is basically like a food diary for your smart phone. Their database of nutrition facts for food is one of the best I’ve seen. You can easily scan the bar code of something you are eating to bring up its info as well. Not only can you track your diet, calories and workouts, you can even sync with products such as Jawbone and Fitbit. Add your friends to the app to encourage each other’s progress and bounce meal ideas off of each other. Enter information such as your current weight, your goal weight and your activity level to get suggestions for daily calorie guidelines. This is a must download! Check out this infographic about the 100 million pounds MyFitnessPal has already helped people lose.Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.15.36 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.05.30 PMFitbit: One of the fitness apps on my phone is Fitbit. I had been dying to try Fitbit for a long time, but I decided to wait until the release of the Fitbit Flex so I’m a bit of a newbie. My favorite features of Fitbit have to be that it tracks my steps and my sleep as well syncs with my food diary on MyFitnessPal. Look for a review of the flex coming soon!Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.05.41 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.11.05 PMGympact: Gympact is an app I have downloaded, but I honestly haven’t used it to its full capacity myself. A good friend of mine has and loved it. Gympact, is basically a motivation app to get you into the gym. Your wallet is your motivator because in this app you put a dollar amount that you will pay for each missed workout (according to the number of weekly workouts you set). You will however, also be awarded with money for meeting your goals. Check it out!

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.29.03 PMSkimble: Another great app. I like to use it track my bike rides. It will display your route, mileage and time.


Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.29.30 PM

Fooducate+: This is an app a friend of mine showed me. Its kind of fun. You can scan the barcode on packaged food items and Fooducate+ will give it a grade rating of A, B, C etc. It can be addicting, you may find out your favorite
granola bars aren’t as nutritious as you thought! Fooducate+ also has meal tracking capability.

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.29.51 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.30.14 PMFoursquare: I know, I know Foursquare isn’t really a fitness app, but it can be a great motivator all the same. Besides bragging to your pals that you are checking in for a sweat fest while they are settling in on for some channel surfing, you get messages like this that let you know how many times you’ve been to the gym and personal records. You’ll find you don’t want to break them! It’s just another tiny motivator to help get you there on those days when you are dragging.

IMG_0840

Screen Shot 2013-07-19 at 12.30.30 PMCal: Again, I know not truly a fitness centered app but, Cal is a calendar app that shows not only all your appointments for the day by syncing with your email calendar but it also shows you where you have open gaps of time in your day. I.E. thought you didn’t have time to be active today? Think again Cal, just showed you a gap of free time to get moving!

What are your favorite fitness apps?

Leave a Reply

